spinning star HST demo sewmod

Demo: Spinning Star HST Paper
Warning: Addictive

I came across Spinning Star HST papers in a cute quilt shop while on vaca in Oklahoma called Threads of Tradition. They had made a chevron baby quilt using them them and I thought, what the heck, I’ll try that. The added bonus was the papers were designed by a local quilter in Edmond, OK and I do like to support my local small business!

I contacted Liz of Spinning Star Designs and she generously donated papers for a demo and a door prize for the guild.

Triangle paper was always something I knew of but never tried. I always thought, “Why would I need that? I can make half square triangles…for free lol!”

But, oh how wrong I was. The paper made me squeal…and in just one afternoon, I had made over 200 PERFECT HST’s. So today I want to share this product that you may have overlooked in your local quilt store. I’m convinced, once you try it, you’ll never want to go back to your other method. I promise!

We’re going to be working with 3″ HST papers. One paper will produce (8) 3-1/2″ unfinished blocks. For this demo, I’m using the Riley Blake line by Lori Whitlock called “Oh Boy”. You can find the papers and the fabric line in the SewModDesigns Etsy shop.

Let’s begin!  Cut two 8″ squares of fabric. Place the pieces right sides together.

Spinning star HST demo SewMod

Place your HST paper on top and pin.

spinning star HST demo sewmod

Shorten the stitch length on your machine to 1.6.

Sew on the dotted line starting where the arrows point in the #1 direction on the paper. Pivot and turn when you arrive at the solid dots and continue all the way around the paper until you’ve finished stitching on the line #8.

Spinning star HST demo SewMod

Using your rotary cutter and ruler, cut along all the solid lines.

Spinning star HST demo SewMod

Tear your paper away. If you bend the paper towards the seam, the paper will tear away easily.

Spinning star HST demo SewMod

Press the seam towards the darker fabric.

spinning star HST demo sewmod

We all know that a great quilt starts with the cutting, and a damn near perfect seam allowance. This paper has that part covered!

I made several different blocks for the demo. This one is a 12.5″ unfinished block using (2) HST’s units with one each of a  3.5″ square of white and the matching HST fabric.

Spinning star HST demo SewMod

The block on the right is the same as the one above just turned a different way. I also made a chevron and a HST nine patch block.

Spinning star HST demo SewMod

spinning star HST demo sewmod

Tell me your thoughts on HST papers. Do you use them? Do you want to try them? What have you made?