Napkins SewMod

I’ve used cloth napkins so long, I feel GUILTY when I reach for a paper towel. My Grandma made me some for Christmas about 15 years ago with matching place mats and after I moved away from OKC to Chicago I thought about her every time I used them. So not only are cloth napkins the “green” way to go but I’ve also developed a sort of comfort attachment in some way I guess.. I tucked those napkins and place mats away for safe keeping and I’ve just gotten around to replacing them and I’m going to give you an easy tutorial on how to make some for yourself.

Over the years, I’ve used several methods for making napkins. From one-sided to the fancy ones that are doubled-sided with mitered corners..these are reserved for the holidays,

sewmod DIY cloth napkin

but today we are just going to make double-sided with a top stitch.

SewMod glimma napkins

The pic above is from the “I Glimma All Over The Place”   blog post about a month ago and those napkins have been tried and tested through many washes and I am here to tell ya that they look and feel like new! So don’t hesitate on going green yourself… let’s get started on your own set!

I used fat quarters for mine but you can use up some of that fabric from your stash by cutting 18 ” squares. You will need 2 per napkin.

SewMod diy cloth napkin tutorial

Place your (2) 18″ squares right sides together. Pin so it doesn’t shift while sewing.
Using a 1/4″ seam allowance sew all the way around the fabric, leaving a 3-4 inch opening for turning.

SewMod diy cloth napkin tutorial

Clip the corners, being careful not to cut through the stitches.

SewMod diy cloth napkin tutorial

Turn right sides out through the opening. I used this handy little thingamajig to poke my corners out nicely. Just make sure you don’t push too hard. You’ll push right through your seams.

SewMod diy cloth napkin tutorial

Press, making sure to turn in the openings raw edges.

SewMod cloth napkin tutorial

Top stitch close to the edge on all sides to secure the opening. This helps keep the fabric from shifting and will help it lie nicely over time.

SewMod diy cloth napkin tutorial

And you’re all finished! Now go make a nice meal for your Babe or Sweetie to compliment your pretty napkins!

SewMod cloth napkin tutorial

SewMod diy cloth napkin tutorial

Make sets for your holiday table..

SewMod diy cloth napkin tutorial

Or gifties for your friends. They’re sure to be impressed!